Pre-Launch Week

Here comes the final week of the Community Bonding and as usual my long blog post.

Ah, well.. really? Community Bonding? Period.
It was since inception(September-for me) that there was a bond built with OpenMRS. Frankly, just the initial tag line “Write Code. Save Lives” – has bonded tightly within my thoughts which let the flow of action.

Initially, it was tough to cope up. However, Daniel Kayiwa, Wyclif Luyima, Darius Jazayeri and *plenty* others (..I cannot really mention everyone here) helped me to overcome my mistakes and get better every time I request for a review 😀
I feel really thankful to be in the right place with patience-filled guidance. Though in the early days, I had a fear of how everyone would take my faults as it is an open source, latter days got me used to the fact that “Accept mistakes openly, that’s how you learn to grow better”.

Learned way too much, in terms of technical details and also grew up as a person, hoping to learn much more in this special journey of GSoC and contribute better in an improvised way to OpenMRS.

Throughout this short period, few noticeable points:

– I must commit that its been really inspiring to see the project discussion’s on OpenMRS talk: One of my best observances so far, in which each and everyone has involved and given their opinions to give a positive push to the students.

– # Salutes to Kayiwa’s patience in dealing with every person in a kind way.

OpenMRS journey has been real memorable so far. No regrets, no blockers for a long duration.

WEEKLY UPDATE:
To start with my project, I am ready with the module deployed to the repository and will push future modification to that repo itself. All set for retiring the legacy UI to let in the contemporary change to our OpenMRS UI.
Please check the basic module deployed to the repository here: https://github.com/Tharunya/openmrs-module-legacyui

*Any suggestions at any point of time throughout my project are welcome: Co-GSoCer’s Mentor’s, OpenMRS Board and OpenMRS community*

Looking forward to an amazing project season ahead this summer.
Last but not the least, I am glad that Burke Mamlin, the creator of this opportunity to work as a part of this organization, is my mentor. And now, it’s my turn to make sure that he will have the best from my side for the Summer of Code 2015 and further.
Hoping to meet all your expectations 😀

Looking forward to the call and get started 😀
#CodingAwaits
All the very best to all the GSoCer’s from OpenMRS. Hope we all succeed to make OpenMRS proud! 😀

Leave a comment